IThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said supplementary elections will hold in six federal constituencies of the Lagos state alongside the governorship and state house of assembly elections on Saturday.

This was made known by the state Resident Electoral Commissioner during a conference in Ikeja, Lagos on Wednesday.

Olumekun said that the federal constituency supplementary elections would be held in 148 Polling Units (PUs) of 76 Registration Areas across five local government areas of the state.

“After a careful, thorough and painstaking review of the Presidential/National Assembly elections in the state, the commission observed that six federal constituency elections were inconclusive.

“This was as a result of political thuggery, violence, snatching and disruption of ballot papers and boxes, manual voting and over voting in some polling units.

“Rerun elections will hold in 76 Registration Areas, and 148 polling units with a total of 43, 660 registered voters,” Olumekun said.

He said the commission is holding the supplementary elections in conformity with Section 33(e), Section 26 and 53 of the Electoral Act.

Olumekun said that the affected federal constituencies comprised Oshodi-Isolo I and II, Ojo, Somolu, Eti-Osa and Ajeromi-Ifelodun Federal Constituencies.

The INEC boss said that the supplementary elections would hold in 28 PUs across three Wards of Oshodi-Isolo I with a total register voter of 21, 881 as well as 20 PUs across five Wards of Oshodi-Isolo II with a total registered voter of 24, 614.

According to him, the rerun will also hold in five PUs across four Wards in Ojo with a total registered voters of 4, 146 and eight PUs across six Wards of Eti-Osa with a total registered voters of 9, 867.

He added that the rerun would hold in 16 PUs across seven wards of Somolu with a total registered voter of 8,413 as well as 71 PUs across eight wards of Ajeromi-Ifelodun with total registered voters of 8,984.

Follow us: @earthpublishers on Twitter | EarthPublisher on Facebook